Anything but Ordinary, please!

Embracing life to the full… Including questions, challenges, joys and adventures

Not as generous as I would like to admit

One of the things that Matt and I pride ourselves on is being generous. In that statement you can see a problem… having pride with our generosity.. Shoot!

Well, one Lenten challenge from our church is helping me to see my stinginess in a new light. A Place at the Table– Solidarity with the poor is set up to help people change their habits as well as connect with the poor, give and reflect during Lent. Matt and I decided not to do the book study because we didn’t want to. I mean, we are going to California in a few weeks and will be eating lavishly…

SO… Instead, we chose the “easier” option…

Our challenge is to place one non perishable food item in a bag to donate for each meal that we eat. This adds up to about 3 items per day. So, every time we have a meal, I go to our pantry and pull out something and place it in the brown bag in the corner of our kitchen.

This seemingly simple task has been so much harder than I would like to admit. I have done things like count each granola bar in a box as an “item”, used this as an opportunity to get rid of the things that we don’t like to eat, and gone to the store and bought all of the generic brands that are on sale…

I am not proud of my attitude so far, but I think this is the point.

Part of the point of lent is realize our need for a savior…to realize the weightiness and importance of what Jesus has done for us.

To be called to a change of heart.

I have hope for the weeks to come. No pride, but more generosity.

God please help us to be generous like you are.

Amen

3 comments on “Not as generous as I would like to admit

  1. Matt Rowe
    March 4, 2013

    I agree. I didn’t think something this simple would be so hard. I purposely try not to look at what you put in that bag because I know I will want it for myself and to take it out. God, please change my heart.

  2. Jenn
    March 4, 2013

    This is a great challenge, I want to do this as well!

  3. traciraerowe
    March 4, 2013

    You are welcome to join us Jenn!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2013 by .
